OcuLabs Vision Support Bites vs Ocu-GLO: Which Eye Supplement for Your Senior Dog?

Ocu-GLO is the vet-ophthalmologist antioxidant gelcap; Vision Support Bites is the disclosed-dose senior chew. Here is how the formulas, formats, dosing and guarantees compare, and which dog each one suits.

OcuLabs Vision Support Bites jar and heart-shaped chews with lutein and astaxanthin icons

Quick answer: Ocu-GLO is the broad-spectrum antioxidant gelcap developed with veterinary ophthalmologists, dosed by body weight, with twelve actives wrapped in a proprietary blend. OcuLabs Vision Support Bites is a senior-dog soft chew that lists exact amounts of the four nutrients most dog parents are buying an eye supplement for: lutein 6 mg, astaxanthin 1 mg, beta-carotene 1.5 mg and omega-3 DHA 100 mg per two chews. If your ophthalmologist has prescribed Ocu-GLO for a diagnosed condition, follow that plan. If you want a daily routine your senior dog will actually take, with disclosed doses, a weight-based serving and a 90-day guarantee, Vision Support Bites is built for that.

Side by side

  • Who makes it: Ocu-GLO by Animal Necessity, formulated with veterinary ophthalmologists. Vision Support Bites by OcuLabs, formulated for dogs 7 and up.
  • Format: Ocu-GLO: liquid gelcaps (small-dog and medium/large formulas), a powder blend, and a 15-count chewable. Vision Support Bites: chicken-flavoured soft chews, 90 per jar.
  • Key actives per serving: Ocu-GLO gelcap: a 175 mg GLO proprietary blend (grapeseed extract, lutein extract, omega-3 EPA/DHA) plus vitamin C 50 mg, green tea extract 20 mg, vitamin E 16.75 mg, alpha-lipoic acid 13 mg, CoQ10 13 mg, zinc 5 mg, vitamin B3 1.2 mg and lycopene. Vision Support Bites (2 chews): lutein 6 mg, astaxanthin 1 mg, beta-carotene 1.5 mg, algal DHA 100 mg.
  • Lutein disclosed? OcuLabs: yes, 6 mg. Ocu-GLO: inside the blend, not stated separately.
  • Astaxanthin: OcuLabs 1 mg. Ocu-GLO: none listed.
  • Grapeseed extract: Ocu-GLO: yes, the lead ingredient. OcuLabs: none.
  • Dosing: Ocu-GLO: 1 to 4 gelcaps a day by weight (10 lb and under one small-dog gelcap; 11 to 30 lb one; 31 to 60 lb two; 61 to 100 lb three; over 100 lb four). OcuLabs: 2 chews up to 6.5 kg (15 lb), 3 chews to 16 kg (35 lb), 4 chews over 16 kg.
  • Where to buy: Ocu-GLO through vets, Chewy, Amazon and pet pharmacies. Vision Support Bites only at ocupetlabs.com.
  • Guarantee: OcuLabs: 90-day money-back on the 3-jar supply. Ocu-GLO: retailer return policies.

What Ocu-GLO does well

Breadth and pedigree. Ocu-GLO was built by people who look at dog retinas for a living, and it reads like it: grapeseed extract for its proanthocyanidins, lutein, omega-3s, then a second tier of vitamin C, vitamin E, green tea, alpha-lipoic acid, CoQ10, zinc and lycopene. Veterinary ophthalmologists reach for it after cataract surgery, alongside treatment for retinal disease, and for diabetic dogs at risk of lens changes. If a specialist has put your dog on it, that is a good reason to stay on it.

The trade-offs are format and transparency. Gelcaps are a pill, and a lot of senior dogs make a pill a twice-daily negotiation. The powder and small chewable range help, but they are separate purchases with their own dosing. And because the three headline ingredients sit inside one proprietary blend, you cannot see how much lutein or DHA your dog is actually getting per gelcap.

What Vision Support Bites does well

Focus and compliance. OcuLabs picked the four nutrients with the clearest job in an aging eye and printed the amounts: lutein 6 mg (the retinal carotenoid), astaxanthin 1 mg (a potent antioxidant that reaches eye tissue), beta-carotene 1.5 mg (vitamin A precursor) and 100 mg of algal DHA (tear film and retinal cell membranes). It skips grapeseed, CoQ10 and the vitamin tier, which keeps the chew small enough that a two-chew serving is a treat rather than a project. Serving scales by weight, each jar holds 90 chews, and the 90-day supply is covered by a money-back guarantee so you can judge it over the window that matters. It is not a substitute for a specialist plan, and it will not remove a cataract.

Which one for your dog

  • Diagnosed eye disease, post-surgery, or a specialist plan: Ocu-GLO, as prescribed.
  • Diabetic dog with an ophthalmologist: ask them; many will name Ocu-GLO.
  • Healthy senior with early haze, dusk hesitation, or a family history of eye trouble: Vision Support Bites, daily, for 90 days.
  • Dog who fights pills: Vision Support Bites, or Ocu-GLO's chewable.
  • You want to know exactly what you are paying for: Vision Support Bites lists every active by milligram.

Whichever you choose, give it with food, keep it daily and judge it over 60 to 90 days on the things you can see: dusk walks, stairs, catching treats, confidence in familiar rooms. For the causes behind a cloudy look, read why are my dog's eyes cloudy?, and for a full ingredient breakdown see best eye supplements for dogs.

Frequently asked questions

Is Ocu-GLO or OcuLabs better for a dog with cloudy eyes?

Neither treats cataracts. Ocu-GLO gives the widest antioxidant coverage in a gelcap and is the product many veterinary ophthalmologists know. Vision Support Bites give disclosed amounts of lutein, astaxanthin, beta-carotene and DHA in a chew most senior dogs take as a treat, with a 90-day guarantee.

How much lutein is in each?

Vision Support Bites list 6 mg per two-chew serving. Ocu-GLO lists lutein inside a 175 mg proprietary blend, so the milligrams are not stated.

Can I give both together?

They overlap on lutein and omega-3s, so doubling up is unnecessary. Choose one and give it consistently. Follow your ophthalmologist if Ocu-GLO was prescribed.

Which is easier to give?

Vision Support Bites are chicken-flavoured soft chews. Ocu-GLO comes as gelcaps, a powder and a smaller chewable range.

Does either have a money-back guarantee?

OcuLabs covers the 90-day, 3-jar supply with a 90-day money-back guarantee (see the refund policy). Ocu-GLO is covered by the return policy of wherever you buy it.

Ocu-GLO is a trademark of Animal Necessity. Ingredient figures come from the manufacturers' published labels at the time of writing; check the current label before buying. This article is general information, not veterinary advice.

Daily support for senior dogs.

Vision, calming, joint and gut support with every ingredient printed on the label. 90-day guarantee.

Back to blog